Press Releases

Dakar Rally starts its marathon stage with IVECO #505 inside the Top 10 positions

In a very dangerous special with several incidents, PETRONAS Team De Rooy IVECO placed Janus van Kasteren in eighth place. The stage was stopped in the 345 km mark due to strong wind gusts​

The start of the marathon stage was too harsh for some crews. With official assistances in the biouvac of Haradh, the competitors raced to the city of Shubaytah with the focus of taking care of their trucks, as any repair or change should be done by their own means. From the 534 timed kilometers, only 345 were raced.

Once again, Janus van Kasteren was the best PETRONAS Team de Rooy IVECO. With his 8th position, 7m47s behind winner Shibalov, the Dutchman continues in 7th overall, with large differences to his rivals in front and behind. “It was a dangerous stage. Most of the dunes were on their side, but some they were too steep. We hope everything goes well as we turn back to Haradh”, stated Janus van Kasteren.

Vick Versteijnen helped his teammate Van Kasteren with a small issue, as he finished in 12th position this Wednesday. Another tripulation that gave a hand to teammates of the PETRONAS Team De Rooy IVECO was the #531 from Michiel Becx, who assisted Albert Llovera and his Powerstar #517. The Andorran suffered from a broken turbo and lost more than three hours and a half, but could have been much worse if it had not been for Becx and his own crew. This Thursday’s stage will be the 11th of the Dakar 2020 and the end of the marathon stage. Only two specials before the end at Qiddiyah, as it is a good time to secure trucks and positions all the way to the finish line in Saudi Arabia.


​1.​​Anton Shibalov
​2.​​Dmitry Sotnikov(Kamaz)
​3.Eduard Nikolaev(Kamaz) +1m30s
4.Gert Huzink(Renault) +1m41s
​5.Andrey Karginov
(Kamaz) +2m27s
​21. MICHIEL BECX (IVECO) +40m57s
​32. ALBERT LLOVERA (IVECO) +3h40m23s


​1.​​Andrey Karginov
​2.​​Anton Shibalov(Kamaz)
​3.Siarhei Viazovich(Maz) +1h40m00s
4. Ales Loprais (Praga)
5.Dmitry Sotnikov
(Kamaz) +2h48m10s
​15. ALBERT LLOVERA (IVECO) +11h38m26s
​16. MICHIEL BECX (IVECO) +12h35m10s