The 2015 Dakar is over with two Iveco drivers in the Top 10

After a shorter final stage, the surviving 2015 Dakar teams reached the competition finish line in the town of Baradero, 150 kilometers from Buenos Aires.

​Iveco's Hans Stacey, who also won the last special stage, and Gerard de Rooy arrived in the Top 10 after a tough race that presented problems for most pilots along more than 9,000 kilometers.

A new edition of the toughest competition in the world came to an end. The 2015 Dakar announced the champions upon arrival in Baradero, near Buenos Aires, the site of the symbolic podium.

Hans Stacey was the first truck to leave and took advantage of the clear road to win another stage in the 2015 Dakar. This is his third consecutive victory. He achieved a total of four, including the one on the first day of the competition. The Dutchman, with an Iveco Powerstar, beat his countryman Marcel van Vliet by 1m19s and the 2015 Dakar champion, Airat Mardeev, by 2m25s.

Gerard de Rooy finished the day in 7th place with his Iveco Powerstar at 4m36s of the leader and he moved up another position during the final kilometers to finish 9th overall. The Dutchman was one of the competition favorites, but problems in the fourth stage when he crashed in a ditch made it impossible to fight for overall victory. Regardless, De Rooy always kept pace with the leaders and repeatedly took the podium during the various stages. However, this is the first Dakar he finishes without winning a stage since 2011, when he pulled out in the first stage.

Pep Vila, with his unerring Iveco Trakker Evolution II, finished today in 12th place, 9m24s behind his winning teammate Hans Stacey. Even though he was unable to achieve his goal of reaching the top 10, the Spaniard finished with a clear conscience, since he helped Gerard De Rooy to stay in the race. If he had not lost that time in stage 4, Pep Vila could have finished in the Top 10.

Pierre Lahutte, President of the Iveco brand, was present at the closing of the 2015 Dakar, alongside the fleet that arrived in Buenos Aires. "Our three trucks arrived at the finish line confirming their reliability and durability in the most extreme conditions. We did not end up on the podium as we had hoped, but we persevered and won the last three stages of the Dakar. Congratulations to the whole team," concluded Pierre Lahutte.