Dakar 2016

Petronas De Rooy IVECO Team aims for victory

Iveco is once again back in the legendary Dakar off-road rally as official supporter of the Teams Petronas De Rooy Iveco. Four Iveco rally trucks – two Powerstar and two Trakker - will compete in the 2016 Dakar (3-16 January), supported by seven Iveco service vehicles.

The 38th edition of the world’s most famous endurance rally will once again be hosted in South America. Starting in Argentina’s capital city of Buenos Aires on January 3rd, half of the 9,000 km route will be raced against the clock.

Team Petronas De Rooy Iveco is composed of the Dutch leader, Gerard De Rooy, Spaniard Josep Vila Roca and two new entries, the Czech pilot Aleš Loprais and Anton Van Genugten from the Netherlands.

For the 2016 edition, Iveco will also support a new local team - La Gloriosa De Rooy Iveco - created by the famous Argentinean rally and car raid pilot Federico Vilagra, who is well known as “El Coyote”. The third new pilot in the team, he will drive the third Iveco Powerstar – prepared by Gerard De Rooy - in the Dakar 2016, which will be the first time for him in the truck category.

2016 is a record-breaking year for the Dakar with a total of 354 vehicles (55 trucks, 110 cars, 143 motorcycles, 46 quad bikes,), 556 competitors and 60 nationalities (including Assistance).